Southern Poetry Review
. . . a journal dedicated to poetry PDF Print E-mail

51:2 coverSPR is the second oldest poetry journal in the region, with its origins in Florida and subsequent moves to North Carolina and now Georgia. Continuing the tradition of editorial openness and response to writers that began with Guy Owen in 1958, SPR publishes poems from all over the country as well as from abroad and maintains a worldwide readership. Past issues feature work from Chana Bloch, Billy Collins, Alice Friman, David Hernandez, Andrew Hudgins, Maxine Kumin, Heather McHugh, Sue William Silverman, R. T. Smith, Eric Trethewey, and Cecilia Woloch.

SPR reads submissions year-round and annually sponsors The Guy Owen Prize Contest. The result is a semi-annual literary publication showcasing poems by leading poets as well as those writers we think will become leading poets. We look forward to hearing from you and reading your work. Be sure to check out our news section below for noteworthy updates about our authors, upcoming contests, and awards. And please take some time to browse our archives and enjoy our rich trove of previously published poets.  

Robert Parham

James Smith
e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
web site:

Managing Editor: Tony Morris
email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
web site:

News PDF Print E-mail
  • publishes James Scruton's "Ease" from issue 52:1.
  • Congratulations to Traci Rae Letellier, whose poem, “Outlaw Country,” was selected by Claudia Emerson as the winner of the 2014 Guy Owen Prize.
  • publishes Michael McFee's "Snoring" from issue 51:1.
  • Congratulations to Janet Smith, whose poem, “The Children’s Section,” was selected by Arthur Smith as the winner of the 2013 Guy Owen Prize.
  • publishes "Heavy Rain in the Parking Lot," and "Word Choice" by Coleman Barks from issue 50:2.
  • Congratulations to Susan Schmidt whose poem, "If They Came Our Way," was selected by Kathryn Stripling Byer to win the 2012 Guy Owen Prize.
  • Elton Glaser selected to appear in The Pushcart Prize XXXVII: Best of the Small Presses for his poem "Do the Do."
  • publishes "Drinking Like a Fish," by William Greenway from issue 49:2.
  • Catherine Staples' poem, "Red Rover," was selected by Carl Dennis as the winner of the 2011 Guy Owen Prize. Staples will receive $1000 and publication in issue 49:1 of Southern Poetry Review.
  • publishes "Bourbon," by R. T. Smith from issue 48:2.
  • Congratulations to Elton Glaser whose poem, "Do the Do" was selected by Betty Adcock to win the 2010 Guy Owen Prize.
  • publishes "Woodpecker," by Harry Bauld from issue 47:2.
  • Elton Glaser is the winner of the 2009 Guy Owen Prize. Glaser will receive $1,000. His poem, "Slow Fuse Around the Cranium," selected by David Wagoner, will appear in Southern Poetry Review, 47:2. Check out Guy Owen Prize for guidelines and information about the award.
  • publishes "Lightweights," by Jeff Hardin from issue 47:1.
  • publishes "Lifeguards," by William Greenway from issue 47:1.

SPR is sponsored in part through grants from the Georgia Council for the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Some parts of this website, notably the archives, require the free browser plugin Adobe Flash Player to view. All web site content is copyright 2009, the Southern Poetry Review.