Guy Owen Award PDF Print E-mail

2014 Guy Owen Prize. $1,000 and publication for an unpublished poem. Submit 3-5 poems (10 pages maximum), $20 entry fee check or money order, payable to Southern Poetry Review (includes one-year subscription), and SASE for reply only, between March 1 and June 15 (postmarks).  Include contact information on cover sheet only.

Southern Poetry Review
Guy Owen Prize
Dept. of Languages, Literature and Philosophy
Armstrong Atlantic State University
11935 Abercorn Street
Savannah, Georgia 31419-1997

Previous Winners

2013: Janet Smith, "The Children's Section." Final judge, Arthur Smith.
2012: Susan Schmidt, "If They Came Our Way." Final judge, Kathryn Stripling Byer.
2011: Catherine Staples, "Red Rover." Final judge, Carl Dennis.
2010: Elton Glaser, "Do the Do." Final judge, Betty Adcock.
2009: Elton Glaser, "Slow Fuse Around the Cranium." Final judge, David Wagoner.
2008: George David Clark, "Jellyfish." Final judge, Jane Hirshfield.
2007: Marianna Busching, "Ode to the Innards." Final judge, Linda Pastan.
2006: R. T. Smith, "Plantation of the Mad." Final judge, Dave Smith.
2005: Enid Shomer, "'Gowned Waiting'." Final judge,Fred Chappell.
2004: Alison Jarvis, "Listen." Final judge, David Kirby.
2003: Andrew Grace, "For Tityrus." Final judge, Ellen Bryant Voigt.
2002: Debra A. Daniel, "Hymn of Invitation." Final judge, Peter Meinke.


SPR is sponsored in part through grants from the Georgia Council for the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Some parts of this website, notably the archives, require the free browser plugin Adobe Flash Player to view. All web site content is copyright 2009, the Southern Poetry Review.