SPR is the second oldest poetry journal in the region, with its origins in Florida and subsequent moves to North Carolina and now Georgia. Continuing the tradition of editorial openness and response to writers that began with Guy Owen in 1958, SPR publishes poems from all over the country as well as from abroad and maintains a worldwide readership. SPR reads submissions year-round and annually sponsors The Guy Owen Prize Contest.

current issue

Featured poets include: Rebecca Baggett John Bargowski Jeanne Marie Beaumont Chana Bloch Amy M. Clark Temple Cone Nick Conrad Robert Cording Philip Dacey James Dott Rupert Fikey Rebecca Foust Amy Glynn Annie Hinkle David Kirby Traci Rae Letellier Diane Lockward Peter Makuck Paul Martin Melanie …... read more


Congratulations to Traci Rae Letellier, whose poem, “Outlaw Country,” was selected by Claudia Emerson as the winner of the 2014 Guy Owen Prize.

PoetryDaily.org publishes Michael McFee’s “Beige Wall Telephone, 1960s” from issue 52:2.

connect with SPR

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.